Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomeDeleting Accounts OnlineDeleting Accounts Online - How to Delete Yahoo, Google, Gmail Accounts

Deleting Accounts Online – How to Delete Yahoo, Google, Gmail Accounts

Deleting Accounts Online seems like rocket science, but fortunately, they are effortless. This post shall discuss in detail how to delete YouTube, Yahoo, or Gmail Accounts, and why Deleting Accounts Online is important.

Why Deleting Accounts Online is important

There are a lot of Online Accounts to which you might have signed up and no longer been using. Most of those online accounts contain personal data, credit card, and debit card details. It is not wise to leave it around on the internet just like that. It is a brilliant idea to identify such accounts and delete them.

Introduction to Deleting Accounts Online

Fig. 1 – Introduction to Deleting Accounts Online

How to Delete Gmail Account

You can delete and create a new account, but once you delete; everything is gone, so be careful to take a backup of anything important you would like to save and remember to update the email ID if you were using it for any official purpose. Let us see how we delete a Gmail account.

  1. We need to first log in to the account. Go to Google.com and login to your Gmail account.
  2. On the upper right-hand side, you will find a grid icon, click on the grid icon, and choose Account.
  3. New page opens. On the new page, select Data & Privacy section. Scroll down to ‘Data from apps and services you use’. Select ‘Delete a Google service’.
  4. You will be taken to a new page where you will be required to sign in. After signing in, click the Delete option next to ‘Gmail’.
  5. You will be prompted to type an existing email id. This should be any email ID other than Gmail. After you enter the email ID, click ‘Send verification email’.
  6. You will need to log in to your alternate email ID to verify the existing email address. You would have received a link to delete your Gmail ID. Follow the link and select “Yes, I want to delete [email protected].
  7. Select Delete Gmail and then done.

close Gmail ID

Fig. 2 – Delete Gmail Account

How to Delete Google Accounts Online

The above steps in the previous section will delete only the Gmail account. If you wish to delete the whole Google Account, a few more steps need to be followed as mentioned below.

  1. Follow the steps 1 through 3 mentioned in the previous section i.e., login to your Gmail account and select ‘Delete a Google service’ under Data & Privacy section.
  2. You will have an option to download your data before deleting the Google account, which you can utilize, if you have not downloaded data in advance.
  3. You will have to check two boxes and then click on Delete Account.

Terminate Google Account

Fig. 3 – Delete Google Account

Once you delete your Google account, the entire information in Google Photos, Google Drive will be lost. The subscription paid on Google Play and YouTube will also be lost, and you will no longer have access to the music, apps, or movies on that account.

How to Delete Gmail Sign-in History

Each time you sign into Gmail, Google keeps track of images you have looked at, sites you have searched, etc. To keep the search history unrevealed, you can delete the Gmail sign-in history. Follow these easy steps to delete the Gmail sign-in history.

  1. To delete the sign-in history, log in to your Gmail account.
  2. Click on My Account. Under Services, you will have an option Search History.
  3. Click on Search History and then click Clear Entire Search History.
  4. You can also select Remove Items, click the box next to the items you would like to delete, and then click Remove.

Follow the below steps to delete Gmail Sign-in History on the mobile app.

  1. Open the Gmail application.
  2. There are three lines on the left side of the search bar; click on that.
  3. Scroll down on the page and select settings and General settings.
  4. On the next page, you will find three vertical dots, tap on that, and select Clear Search History.

How to Delete Yahoo Accounts Online

Yahoo Accounts can only be closed if you have cancelled all the subscriptions. Once your account is deleted, all your emails will be sent to the sender with a delivery failure message. To delete the account, you need to follow the below steps.

  1. Go to the Yahoo sign-in page on the browser.
  2. Log in to the Yahoo termination page account.
  3. Read the terms and conditions information on termination of the account.
  4. Click continue and type your Yahoo password to verify your identity and finally click Yes, Delete the account.

Once the Yahoo Account is deleted, all the emails, Yahoo Fantasy teams, calendars, Yahoo Finance Portfolio will be deleted from the account. You will have a period of 30 days to reactivate your account if you would like to recover it. Or else the account will disappear.

Terminate Yahoo Account

           Fig. 4 – Terminate Yahoo Account

How to Delete YouTube Account

 When trying to Delete YouTube Account, you need to be extra careful, as there are chances of you ending up deleting the whole Google account. All YouTube accounts are linked with Google accounts. Follow the steps below to delete a YouTube account.

  1. Visit Google.com and login to your Gmail account.
  2. On the upper right-hand side, you will find a grid icon, click on the grid icon, and choose Account.
  3. A new page opens. On the new page, select the Data & Privacy section. Scroll down to Data from apps and services you use. Select Delete a Google service.
  4. If you want to save any data from your YouTube account, you can select Download Data. If not, you can scroll further and select the Delete icon that is available beside YouTube.
  5. You will need to sign in again to verify your identity.
  6. Select I want to permanently delete my content, and all the contents of YouTube will be deleted.
  7. Check the confirmation box to confirm Google that you agree to delete your YouTube account and select Delete My Content.

Even though your YouTube account is deleted, the related activities can remain on the net as long as the associated account of Google is active. To delete all the traces of the YouTube account, you need to delete the Google account.

Conclusion

The accounts which are not in use are a security threat. Hence, if you are no longer using your account, you can delete it by following the above steps.

Also Read:

Laxmi Ashrit
Laxmi Ashrit
Laxmi is a B.E (Electronics & Communication) and has work experience in RelQ Software as Test Engineer and HP as Technical support executive. She is an author, editor and partner at Electricalfundablog.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Your SEO optimized title page contents